Union territory · Capital: Srinagar (summer) / Jammu (winter)
Jammu and Kashmir Population 2026
Population · 1 March 2026
1.39 crore Official projection RGI Technical Group on Population Projections (2020), as on 1 March 1 March 2026 How this is made →
1,38,96,000 13.9 million 1 March 2026
Jammu and Kashmir's population is projected at 1.39 crore (1,38,96,000) on 1 March 2026, according to the RGI Technical Group's official projection. Census 2011, the last count, recorded 1,22,67,013.
RGI Technical Group on Population Projections (2020), as on 1 March
Key figures
- Population 2026
- 1.39 crore 1,38,96,000 Official projection RGI Technical Group on Population Projections (2020), as on 1 March How this is made →
- Census 2011
- 1.23 crore 1,22,67,013 Census 2011 Final count, Census of India 2011 (ORGI) How this is made →
- Density
- 290per km² 2011 · 2026: 329
- Sex ratio
- 892 females per 1,000 males
- Child sex ratio (0–6)
- 860 India 918
- Literacy rate
- 67.0% Male 76.6% · Female 56.4%
- Urban share
- 27.5% 2026: 31.3% (projected)
- Growth 2001–11
- +23.8% 2011→2026: +13.3%
- Area
- 42,241km² †
- Households
- 20.79 lakh 5.9 people per household
- Work participation
- 34.2% 2011
- Children 0–6
- 19.87 lakh 16.2%
† Area administered by India as used for density in Census 2011 district tables; it excludes territory under the illegal occupation of Pakistan and China.
Where it ranks
Population over time
Census counts 1951–2011, then the official projection to 2036. Earlier years add up the areas that form Jammu and Kashmir today.
- Census
- Official projection
› Show the numbers as a table
| Year | Population |
|---|---|
| 1951 | 31,71,512 |
| 1961 | 34,72,325 |
| 1971 | 45,11,341 |
| 1981 | 58,53,017 |
| 1991 | 76,57,641 |
| 2001 | 99,07,161 |
| 2011 | 1,22,67,013 |
| 2016 * | 1,28,97,000 |
| 2021 * | 1,34,08,000 |
| 2026 * | 1,38,96,000 |
| 2031 * | 1,43,61,000 |
| 2036 * | 1,47,47,000 |
* Official projection
Districts (20)
All 20 districts of Jammu and Kashmir →| # | |||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Jammu | ≈ 16.11 lakh | 15,29,958 | 880 | 83.5% |
| 2 | Srinagar | ≈ 13.68 lakh | 12,36,829 | 900 | 69.4% |
| 3 | Anantnag | ≈ 13.26 lakh | 10,78,692 | 927 | 62.7% |
| 4 | Baramulla | ≈ 11.12 lakh | 10,11,629 | 885 | 64.6% |
| 5 | Kupwara | ≈ 10.42 lakh | 8,70,354 | 835 | 64.5% |
| 6 | Budgam | ≈ 8.49 lakh | 7,50,155 | 894 | 56.1% |
| 7 | Rajouri | ≈ 7.65 lakh | 6,42,415 | 860 | 68.2% |
| 8 | Kathua | ≈ 6.82 lakh | 6,16,435 | 890 | 73.1% |
| 9 | Pulwama | ≈ 6.45 lakh | 5,60,440 | 912 | 63.5% |
| 10 | Udhampur | ≈ 6.18 lakh | 5,57,689 | 870 | 68.5% |
| 11 | Poonch | ≈ 5.52 lakh | 4,76,835 | 893 | 66.7% |
| 12 | Kulgam | ≈ 4.32 lakh | 4,24,483 | 951 | 59.2% |
* 2026 figures are our estimates (method M1), tied to the official Jammu and Kashmir projection.
Largest cities in Jammu and Kashmir
Births, deaths and fertility
- Birth rate
- 14.8 (18.4)
- per 1,000 people
- Death rate
- 5.6 (6.4)
- per 1,000 people
- Infant mortality
- 14 (25)
- per 1,000 live births
- Fertility rate (TFR)
- 1.5 (1.9)
- children per woman
- Sex ratio at birth
- 929 (917)
- females per 1,000 males
SRS 2023 Sample Registration System Statistical Report 2023 (ORGI) How this is made → Sample Registration System 2023. India in brackets. IMR for smaller States/UTs is a 2021-23 average
Age structure of Jammu and Kashmir
Population in five-year age groups, Census 2011. Men on the left, women on the right. Reconstructed Census 2011, added up on today’s boundaries from village, town or sub-district records. How this is made →
- 80+
- 75-79
- 70-74
- 65-69
- 60-64
- 55-59
- 50-54
- 45-49
- 40-44
- 35-39
- 30-34
- 25-29
- 20-24
- 15-19
- 10-14
- 5-9
- 0-4
› Show the numbers as a table
| Age | Men | Women |
|---|---|---|
| 0-4 | 7,52,593 | 6,40,643 |
| 5-9 | 7,34,520 | 6,53,520 |
| 10-14 | 7,32,037 | 6,57,209 |
| 15-19 | 6,28,208 | 5,85,091 |
| 20-24 | 5,86,335 | 5,45,041 |
| 25-29 | 5,61,863 | 4,89,912 |
| 30-34 | 4,78,524 | 4,21,915 |
| 35-39 | 4,28,645 | 3,88,615 |
| 40-44 | 3,77,607 | 3,19,838 |
| 45-49 | 3,03,960 | 2,73,543 |
| 50-54 | 2,50,251 | 2,08,299 |
| 55-59 | 1,68,817 | 1,63,893 |
| 60-64 | 1,69,778 | 1,45,977 |
| 65-69 | 1,00,239 | 99,124 |
| 70-74 | 95,196 | 84,593 |
| 75-79 | 41,803 | 40,936 |
| 80+ | 64,148 | 59,692 |
- Children (0–14)
- 34.0%
- India 30.9%
- Working age (15–59)
- 58.6%
- India 60.5%
- Older people (60+)
- 7.4%
- India 8.6%
- Median age
- 23.3years
- India 24.9
- Dependency ratio
- 63.4
- children and 65+ per 100 aged 15–64
- India 57.1
Languages spoken in Jammu and Kashmir
Share of people by mother tongue, grouped into languages as the Census does. 101 languages recorded. Reconstructed Census 2011, added up on today’s boundaries from village, town or sub-district records. How this is made →
- Kashmiri 54.4%
- Hindi 21.1%
- Dogri 20.5%
- Punjabi 1.8%
- Khandeshi 0.3%
- Marathi 0.2%
- Nepali 0.2%
- Shina 0.2%
- All other languages 1.4%
Largest mother tongues
- Kashmiri52.9%
- Dogri20.7%
- Gojri/Gujjari/Gujar9.4%
- Pahari7.8%
- Hindi2.4%
- Punjabi1.8%
- Bhadrawahi1.0%
- Siraji0.4%
Housing and amenities in Jammu and Kashmir
Share of households, Houselisting Census 2011. Reconstructed Census 2011, added up on today’s boundaries from village, town or sub-district records. How this is made →
Basic services
- Electricity for lighting 85.3%
India 67.4%
- Tap water 64.8%
India 43.7%
- Water source within premises 49.4%
India 46.7%
- Toilet within premises 51.1%
India 47.1%
- Open defecation (no latrine) (Lower is better for this one.) 46.1%
India 49.6%
- Bathing area within premises 61.2%
India 58.6%
- Closed drainage 13.0%
India 18.3%
- Cooking with LPG/PNG 31.9%
India 28.7%
- Cooking with wood, crop waste or dung (Lower is better for this one.) 65.2%
India 65.6%
What households own
- Mobile phone 66.4%
India 59.3%
- Television 51.4%
India 47.3%
- Scooter or motorcycle 13.2%
India 21.1%
- Computer or laptop 8.5%
India 9.5%
- Car, jeep or van 7.5%
India 4.7%
- Use banking services 69.8%
India 58.8%
- None of the listed assets (Lower is better for this one.) 17.1%
India 17.8%
The home itself
- Own their home 96.7%
India 86.5%
- Rent their home 2.2%
India 11.1%
- Permanent (pucca) house 63.9%
India 62.0%
- House in good condition 54.7%
India 53.2%
- Concrete roof 24.4%
India 29.1%
- Cement or tiled floor 49.2%
India 42.1%
- One room or less (Lower is better for this one.) 25.6%
India 41.0%
India
Per capita income of Jammu and Kashmir
Per capita Net State Domestic Product (NSDP) at current prices, the standard measure of state per capita income. NSO National Statistical Office (MoSPI), compiled in the RBI Handbook of Statistics on Indian States 2024-25 How this is made →
- Per capita income 2024-25
- ₹1,54,826
- #28 of 33 States/UTs in 2023-24
- Real growth, latest year (2024-25)
- +7.4%
- per capita, constant 2011-12 prices
- Average real growth a year since 2011-12 (13 years)
- +3.6%
- GSDP 2024-25
- ₹2.6 lakh crore
- Gross State Domestic Product, current prices
› Show the numbers as a table
| Year | Current prices (₹) | Constant 2011-12 prices (₹) |
|---|---|---|
| 2011-12 | 51,775 | 51,775 |
| 2012-13 | 57,279 | 52,821 |
| 2013-14 | 61,907 | 54,783 |
| 2014-15 | 62,327 | 51,649 |
| 2015-16 | 74,950 | 61,388 |
| 2016-17 | 78,960 | 62,398 |
| 2017-18 | 87,710 | 65,621 |
| 2018-19 | 98,738 | 69,183 |
| 2019-20 | 1,01,868 | 68,437 |
| 2020-21 | 1,01,645 | 65,539 |
| 2021-22 | 1,12,898 | 66,029 |
| 2022-23 | 1,23,614 | 69,627 |
| 2023-24 | 1,40,051 | 75,955 |
| 2024-25 | 1,54,826 | 81,554 |
Median State/UT 2023-24: ₹2,34,721. Financial years (April–March). Latest years are advance or quick estimates and get revised. Jammu and Kashmir figures cover the former state up to 2018-19 and the Union Territory from 2019-20; Ladakh is not separately reported in earlier years.
What the numbers say
- Jammu and Kashmir is home to 0.98% of India's people and is the 20th most populous of the 36 States and Union Territories.
- The official projection has Jammu and Kashmir growing 13.3% between Census 2011 and 1 March 2026, slower than India's 17.6%.
- Literacy in 2011 was 67.0%, 6.0 points below the national rate of 73.0%.
- There were 892 females for every 1,000 males in 2011 (India: 943), but only 860 girls per 1,000 boys under seven, a sign of a skewed sex ratio at birth.
- 27.5% of people lived in towns in 2011; the official projection puts the urban share at 31.3% in 2026.
- A woman in Jammu and Kashmir has 1.5 children on average (SRS 2023), below the replacement level of 2.1.
- Jammu is the most populous district, with 15.3 lakh people in 2011 (12.5% of the state).
Compare with
Census 2027 status
Results pending-
Phase I: houselisting
Done (1 June 2026 – 30 June 2026)
-
Phase II: counting people
Snow-bound areas: September 2026. Rest: February 2027
-
Results
Not yet released. In 2011, first figures came about a month after counting ended.
When the Registrar General publishes Census 2027 figures for Jammu and Kashmir, they will appear on this page, at this address. Census 2027 explained →
Population by religion in Jammu and Kashmir (Census 2011)
Official figures as published by the Office of the Registrar General. Shown without commentary. Reconstructed Census 2011, added up on today’s boundaries from village, town or sub-district records. How this is made →
| Religion | Persons | Share | India |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hindu | ≈ 35,33,500 | 28.8% | 79.8% |
| Muslim | ≈ 84,40,200 | 68.8% | 14.2% |
| Christian | ≈ 34,400 | 0.3% | 2.3% |
| Sikh | ≈ 2,32,600 | 1.9% | 1.7% |
| Buddhist | ≈ 3,800 | 0.0% | 0.7% |
| Jain | ≈ 2,400 | 0.0% | 0.4% |
| Other religions and persuasions | ≈ 1,500 | 0.0% | 0.7% |
| Religion not stated | ≈ 18,800 | 0.2% | 0.2% |
| Total | 1,22,67,013 | 100% |
Frequently asked questions
What is the population of Jammu and Kashmir in 2026?
What was the population of Jammu and Kashmir in Census 2011?
Which district of Jammu and Kashmir has the largest population?
What is the sex ratio and literacy rate of Jammu and Kashmir?
When will Census 2027 figures for Jammu and Kashmir be released?
⤓ Download Jammu and Kashmir data (CSV)
Sources and method
- Census of India 2011, Primary Census Abstract (ORGI)
- Census 2011 Table A-2: decadal variation since 1901
- Report of the Technical Group on Population Projections 2011–2036 (July 2020)
- Sample Registration System Statistical Report 2023 (ORGI)
- Census 2011 Table C-14: population in five-year age groups
- Census 2011 Table C-16: population by mother tongue
- Census 2011 Houselisting Table HH-14: households by amenities and assets
- Census 2011 Table C-01: population by religious community
- RBI Handbook of Statistics on Indian States 2024-25 (data: NSO, MoSPI)
- Local Government Directory (current district boundaries)
- Our estimation method M1 (formulas and checks)
- How 2011 figures are rebuilt on today’s district boundaries
Data updated: · Report a correction